BEDA 10: Indie Music

I just realised that I went through the entire day thinking it was Monday. Which then led me to get really confused about how I was on the third day of Top Ten Week already when it was only Monday. And then I got really confused.

Regardless, today’s Top Ten suggestion has once again been suggested by my beautiful and also smart and also very talented sister Bethany. (If you want to suggest a topic, you may. I cannot promise that you will get similar compliments, though.) Bethany suggested that today’s top ten be my top ten favourite Indie Bands. So here we go.

1. The Mountain Goats
The fantastic band headed by John Darnielle, is one of my favourite bands of all time. John’s lyrics are intelligent (I have to admit, sometimes they go over my head) but also very clever and sometimes funny. Their melodies are simple and easy to sing along with. I’m heavily influenced by John Green of the Vlogbrothers, but I think in the best way possible.

2. The Avett Brothers
Again influenced by John Green, though that’s not how I discovered this band. I heard Kick Drum Heart in the background at church one day, and had to Shazzam it to figure out what song it was so I could download it immediately. It’s now the most played song on my iPhone. What makes them one of my favourite bands, though, is their variety. Some of my favourite songs on the one album of theirs that I own don’t sound a thing like Kick Drum Heart. They’re different, and that keeps them interesting. I’m also a sucker for an upright bass.

3. Harry and Alfie
These two brothers from Ireland don’t even have an album out yet. Though technically they’re rebranding themselves as Hudson Taylor with two other Irish band members, a lot of their fans still recognize them as plain old Harry and Alfie. Their new sound is really great, with the extra instruments added by the new members, and I’m really looking forward to their upcoming EP.

4. George Watsky
Watsky isn’t what comes to mind when you think of indie music, but technically indie simply refers to unsigned artists, and Watsky is the very perfect definition of independently produced. All of Watsky’s albums are available for free or voluntary donation on his bandcamp, and yet he is still one of the most successful YouTube musicians out there. I’ve spouted about Watsky in my rap post, so I won’t go over old territory again, but he’s one of the only rappers I listen to.

5. Nice Peter
I could spout for hours about how awesome Nice Peter is. Nice Peter’s another musician who doesn’t have a lot of music out, though he’s well known for doing the Epic Rap Battles of History on YouTube and does have an album of the comedic rap duels. The thing I love about Nice Peter, though, are the ‘short little songs’ he writes and posts on his second YouTube channel. A lot of his songs are comedic, but these songs are often a lot more heartfelt and sweet sounding.

6. Justin Nozuka
I discovered this golden-voiced Hawaiian-Canadian specimen through my dance teacher while I was in school for performing arts. His songs are smooth, and conjure memories of crooners like Frank Sinatra and Tony Bennett, while still having the chill mood of Jack Johnson or Jason Mraz. He’s also perfect.

7. Coeur de Pirate
I am so glad I had that terribly embarrassing phase of being obsessed with a German Emo Punk band because it taught me how to listen to music in different languages without having to understand them. I’ve discovered a recent obsession with French music somewhat randomly, and I was guided towards this lovely lady by my good friend. I’ve listened to her album pretty much non-stop since I bought it. Also, she looks like Billie Piper, and that makes me happy-sad.

8. Eddie Vedder
Okay, let me clarify. Pearl Jam is not an unsigned band. I am referring specifically to one album given to me by my wonderful friend Carolyn. This album is Eddie Vedder’s Ukulele Songs. I love the sound of the uke (I should, since I play it) and Vedder’s voice has the perfect uniqueness to it.

9. She & Him
Also known as the band of the woman who the word ‘adorkable’ was probably invented for, Zooey Deschanel. Zooey’s voice is so jazzy, I love it. I’m not usually a fan of female voices, but Zooey has that perfect tone to it that I could listen to forever. Their music takes a bit of getting used to, I think. At first I thought it was a bit background musicy, but I like it. It’s like part country part jazz.

10. Blitzen Trapper
These fabulous men from Oregon have captured my heart. Their songs are even more all over the place than The Avett Brothers. Some of their songs are folky, reminiscent of Bob Dylan, and some are funky and experimental, reminiscent of David Bowie. I love these guys, they constantly surprise me.

So there’s the top ten. It’s hardly a complete list of everything I listen to, I had to compete to keep the list down to ten. (I missed including Owl City, and the assistance of Matt Theissen, who is a god among men). I also love making playlists, and will gladly provide for anyone who asks.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to BEDA 10: Indie Music

  1. Carolyn says:

    Great list! I love that you included Eddie on this when most people wouldn’t consisder him indie! I would love you to do a top ten fav band/artist of all time, or albums of all time. I also think that top ten movies would be cool!

  2. Bethany says:

    p.s. Starfield’s last album was indie 😀

  3. Bethany says:

    top ten ‘famous’ people you know personally (could be anyone, as long as you have a reason they’re famous)

  4. nicolemarion says:

    You have really good taste in music. Harry and Alfie? SO GOOD. And might I recommend Grizzly Bear? They’re pretty phenomenal, and based on this, I think you might like them. DFTBA!

  5. Bethany says:

    top ten reasons to always have a pan B

Leave a Reply

