BEDA 17: I’m the One That’s Cool

Today is a Song and a Reason Why. I really love these blog posts, though I haven’t done a whole lot yet. I kind of like the fact that they’re more sparse than the other blog posts.

Today’s song is a fun song. It’s by the amazing group of people that make the web series The Guild, and it’s called I’m the One That’s Cool.

When I was younger, I had a lot of trouble with people. I kind of didn’t get them. I was ostracised and teased in elementary school and it turned me into this sullen person who was sorry for myself all the time. Then high school came around and I was so not used to being liked that I ended up being bitchy to everyone who talked to me. (Sidebar: I was seriously so high and mighty in high school. You know how people do that thing where they “write a letter to their sixteen year old self” and it’s usually all sad and mopey and “it gets better”? Yeah, my letter to my sixteen year old self would be a punch in the face and a “get over yourself”).

So needless to say I wasn’t super popular in school. But now I’m so much more confident in myself, and I’ve learned so much over the past few years that I’m like an entirely different person.

Everyone has that dream of showing up at the high school reunion and proving to everyone who hated them that they’re successful and pretty and rich and whatnot. This song is not only the epitome of that dream, but it also gives hope to all us nerds out there who have discovered that nerd-culture is cool now. I don’t have to be ashamed of the fact that I am a giant fan of Harry Potter, and I can wear my superhero t-shirts with pride, and people think ‘hey, that’s an awesome shirt, she’s so cool’.

Because hell yeah. I’m the one that’s cool now.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Songs and Reasons Why and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

