BEDA 23: Chillout Song

Again today, I have decided to push forward my awesome blog idea for talking about my emotions. Today is a Song and Reasons Why day, but also bonus Ze Frank Video and Reasons Why day.

I’ve gushed enough about Ze for all of you to understand that I look up to him a lot. He’s practically perfect in every way, only without Julie Andrews’ killer pipes. (He sings anyway, just not very well, which is also part of why he’s perfect.) Ze is also an extremely inspiring person to me. He always seems to say the right thing, and his eloquence is unmatched in the world. Today of all days, after my somewhat emotional blog post yesterday, Ze posted this video. Watch it before you continue reading.

I don’t know how, but Ze managed to take my thoughts and put them into video form. After feeling kind of lost, and being very emotional about the things going on in my life right now, sharing those feelings with the internet really helped. And then I started getting all kinds of messages from people I love, saying that they know the feeling, they understand, and even though that doesn’t make it go away, it makes it better. Because I know that people think like me; they go through the same things, deal with the same feelings, and struggle with the same issues. And that makes me feel like way less of a failure.

In the video Ze mentions the song he wrote called the Chillout Song, which my sister actually reminded me of just this past week before Ze reminded us today. Bethany had found the talk that Ze did at TED which he refers to in the video, and while I liked the song, it took me a while to get it. I listened to the song today, alone, with all these feelings surrounding me and had a good cry. I’m okay. I’ll be fine. Just breathe.

Ze’s project with the Chillout Song is actually really inspiring. You can read more about it here, and I really suggest checking it out.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Songs and Reasons Why and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BEDA 23: Chillout Song

  1. Bethany says:

    I listen to that song about three or four times a day. Seriously. It helps. Breathe…..

  2. Carolyn says:

    Great post. That actually helps me a lot. Thanks.

    P.S. ZeFrank’s eye freak me out a little.

Leave a Reply

