BEDA 30: One Day…

I DID IT!! One blog for every day in April! Some of them were on the day after, and some of them were super short, and some of them sucked, but I never skipped a day, and I have learned so much more about blogging from doing this project.

Thank you to everyone who read and left comments, you guys are awesome.

So today I am finally getting to that awesome blog post idea that I had forever ago and kept putting off because, emotions.

You know that cliché question everyone asks when they’re at a cocktail party with nothing to talk about, or at a Q&A with someone “famous” and can’t think of a question to ask them, or are trying to make conversation with someone they don’t know very well? It’s the one that everyone usually has some kind of answer to: If you could have dinner (lunch/coffee/drinks, whatever) with any one person living or dead who would it be and why?

I’ve always loved that question. You can tell so much about someone by their answer and how much time they take to figure it out. I usually have the same few people to answer that question with, but I like to take it one step further and make the question more interesting.

If you could spend an entire day with one person, living or dead, who would it be, what would you do, and what would you talk about? There are of course certain limitations. No picking someone simply for their physical attractiveness. Sexual desire is off limits as a reason for choice and also as an activity for your day. No picking people you actually know/used to know in real life. (Sorry, no picking your ex-girlfriend so you can get back together/discover what went wrong).

My list changes depending on my mood, or who I find interesting at any given time, but there are a few that stay the same. I’ve picked four people I’m going to focus on. Two living, two dead.

1. Andre Roussimoff – aka Andre the Giant (1946-1993)

People who know Andre from his wrestling career, would probably not get this. Even if you know Andre from his acting career and of my love for The Princess Bride, you still may be a bit curious. Why would I pick Andre and not Cary Elwes? Or Mandy Patinkin? But all you have to do is listen to anyone who ever spent time with Andre to know that he was the most amazing person to know. Just hearing the cast of The Princess Bride reminisce about Andre and his spirit brings tears to my eyes. He was sweet, loved children and animals, and had a bit of a temper. If I had one day to spend with Andre, we would go on a picnic. Sit at the top of a hill in an empty park with the sun shining and we would talk about everything and nothing. About life, about standing out, about fitting in, and I would listen to his deep, accented voice and feel safe.

2. Oscar Wilde (1854-1900)

Oscar Wilde is always the first person to come to mind when I’m asked the ‘living or dead’ question. He’s so perplexing, I just want to pick his brain. I can’t decide if the way I idolize him would disgust him, or if he would consider it flattering enough to tolerate me. I tend to lean toward the narcissistic side, but I know either way he probably wouldn’t even like me very much. Oscar and I would sit in a library filled to the ceiling with books, by a fireplace in huge comfy chairs, with drinks and cigarettes and music playing softly in the background. I would ask Oscar a million questions. His thoughts on religion, on sexual identity, on straining against society just to be yourself. I would ask him why he converted on his death bed; if he was scared, or if he truly believed, or if he really believed his whole life and just tried to ignore it. I hope he would like me. I hope he would ask me questions.

3. Neil Gaiman

I would have to hide my inner fan girl for this fantasy meeting. I don’t know if Neil would like to have lunch with someone who was just slobbering all over herself because she couldn’t think of words to say. I don’t think he likes to be idolized. Admired, maybe, appreciated for his talent, I’m sure. Neil and I would have tea, naturally, sitting perhaps in his kitchen or mine, or someone else’s who lives in the middle of the woods. I would not ask him for advice on writing. I would ask him what he thinks of space, and of airplanes, and of science, and if people can really share a world without trying to kill each other. And whether he thinks magic really exists and if it does could we try find it ourselves? We would do science experiments, and pet cats, and watch Doctor Who.

4. Ze Frank

I told you sexual attraction doesn’t count as a reason or activity so I’ll leave that part out. (You don’t want to hear it anyway). Even if I do think Ze is one of the most attractive people alive, there are so many other things about him that I just find so fascinating. Ze and I would have to be walking. We would start in one place and I would ask him about life, and how people work, and how can you think so deeply about things without breaking? And we would walk through cities and through the woods and we would find things. Abandoned hats, rocks in the shape of John Lennon’s face, sticks that look like penises, and really really shiny pennies. We would find the beauty and the humour in the things and people that surround us, and we would learn.

I can’t believe this blog was actually as good as I wanted it to be! I told you it was a good idea. Of course there’s a lot more people on this list that change from day to day. I didn’t even talk about John Lennon, or JRR Tolkein, or Richard Branson, or Matt Theissen (who is a god among men, but I’m not so sure I’d be able to get past the attraction rule…)

Now it’s your turn. You guys have gotten me through BEDA, and now you have to share. If you could spend an entire day with one person, living or dead, who would it be, what would you do, and what would you talk about? You don’t have to write about more than one person if you don’t want to. But if you can’t decide like me, then go for it. I want to know! Comment! Tell me!

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BEDA 30: One Day…

  1. Sal says:

    I’d like to meet my Uncle Olwyn. He died a little while before my parents got married. Throughout my life, I kept hearing about him, and was often compared to him since I’m a lefty (so was he- I don’t know if there are any other lefties in the family). I would probably want to meet with him at my aunt’s coffee plantation. We could sit for a while and read Archie comics (something he loved even after he was married) and drink chai tea. And then we’d walk around the property and just talk about life and goals and hobbies.

Leave a Reply

