They Say You Should Never Meet Your Heroes…

I’ve had a lot of spare time over the past two weeks. Since finishing my internship at Flight Centre, I’ve been waiting to get more hours at my part-time place of work, and trying to maintain some semblance of a search for a “real job” (I’m kidding myself, really, but that’s a different story for a different time). Having a week off to do nothing is great. I caught up on some tv that I missed, I slept a lot, I relaxed, worked on some personal projects, it was brilliant. It wasn’t long, though, before I started to get a little restless. The weather wasn’t great so I was cooped up inside, I was trying not to spend money so I couldn’t really go anywhere, and there’s only so much tv one can watch before you turn into an actual potato.

With my cabin fever running wild, I divulged into the land of tumblr, and let my inner fangirl run free. If you have any idea what tumblr is like, even from an oustider’s perspective, you’ll know that it’s full of islands of fandoms all posting incessantly about their shared passion. For me, this involved a lot of Relient K and Matt Thiessen blogs, which got me way too excited for this summer’s upcoming Warped Tour. (They haven’t technically announced the line up for Warped Tour this year, but Relient K comes every year, and was where I saw my first Relient K concert last year.)

With plans in place for games like Hipster Ghosting and Count the Crazy Haircuts to pass the time with my brother, my mind inevitably wandered to what will be my second meeting with Thiessen. The weird thing is, I’m actually a lot more nervous about meeting Thiessen for a second time than I was for the first. My first meeting I was nervous, of course, and I jumbled my words and made a bit of a fool of myself but I had things that I wanted to say to him that I’d been holding onto for over ten years and I got to say them. I asked the silly questions that had been nagging at the back of my mind, I had my chance to say thank you. It was amazing, and an experience I’ll never forget but now… I have the chance to meet Thiessen again, who I’ve looked up to since I was barely able to call myself a teenager, and I have no idea what to expect.

I kid a lot on this blog about how much I idolize Thiessen. I call him a god among men (which he is, obvs) but if you really get down to it, there are a lot of reasons that Matt Thiessen isn’t perfect, and that has a lot to do with why I look up to him so much. He doesn’t shy away from the fact that he’s made mistakes and that he doesn’t have all the answers, and he pours that honestly and beautifully into his music. If he was the kind of person who hid his flaws and mistakes, I probably wouldn’t have been a fan of Relient K for so long. His imperfections are the things that make him perfect.

But I can’t say all that to his face… can I?

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

