Why I’m Going to Chicago Alone

This past weekend, Victoria Day weekend, I had planned to go with my family to Ohio. It’s an annual trip that we take to camp and visit Cedar Point, and after the somewhat lacklustre month I’d been having I was very much looking forward to getting away. The one problem with being involved in and having friends in the travel industry, is that you’re constantly reminded of the places you are not. The travel bug bites often and hard. I was desperate for a mini-vacation.

Unfortunately, me being the huge derp that I am sometimes, I booked off the wrong weekend at work. And despite all of my marvelous co-workers doing their best to cover my shifts I was unable to find someone to cover the weekend and so I had to stay at home. It sucked, but I did an okay job at cheering myself up. I watched movies and went to work and was overall a lot less miserable than I had originally expected to be. And then Sunday I realized that I had this upcoming weekend off. And I had a handy credit from Southwest Airlines that needed to be used before August. And this upcoming weekend is Memorial Day in America so why not just go somewhere?

I don’t know how I ended up deciding on Chicago. It just always seemed like such a cool city. I have friends who love the city and visit often, Wheezy Waiter and Nice Peter always have wonderful things to say about it, and it has a certain feeling of intelligence about it for some reason.

I tried really hard to get someone to go with me. Honest, I did. But going from “Let’s go on vacation” to “Let’s go on vacation in two days” is a huge gap, and my friends are all very busy and important people and I can’t hold that against them.

“So why go by yourself, Hannah? That’s crazy!” You are thinking, I know you are, and I have a reason for that also.

I’ve backpacked before. I was much younger, and had friends with me, but I’ve done it, and hostels are neither foreign nor scary for me any more. My plan for my next big vacation, the one that I’m saving for and daydream about when I let my mind wander was to be my first solo trip. My plan is to head to Scandinavia. Sweden to visit Miri, Norway for the scenery, and Denmark for Roskilde. But I thought, going all the way to Europe on your first solo trip is really far, and really scary. I need to practice.

So that’s what I’m doing. I’m practising being alone. I’m a little nervous, but I think I’ll be all right. I have promised my mother that I will email her daily, which means I’m going to do my best to blog as often as I can as well. We’ll see how it goes.

But now, I must sleep. I have an early start and about fifteen different types of transportation to get me to Chicago tomorrow.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I’m Going to Chicago Alone

  1. Carolyn says:

    I’m sorry you had such a crappy weekend, but I hope you have lots of fun on your trip! Take loads of pictures! See you when you get back!

  2. Sal says:

    I’m looking forward to reading all about your solo adventures in Chi-town!

  3. Bethany says:

    Ahhaha…derp 😛 That’s a funny word. Miss you!

  4. Pingback: UK Journey Days 1&2 – Cardiff | Wanderings, Meanderings, and Reasons Why

Leave a Reply

