George Watsky: Inspiration

Yesterday I went to a hip hop concert by myself. I was by myself for various unavoidable reasons one being I don’t have very many friends who like rap, let alone know who George Watsky is. And since I didn’t want to miss out, I just decided to go alone, because I’m good at going places alone.

It was an amazing show. Watsky showed off his talents perfectly, he was funny, he played all the songs I wanted him to, he recited two (TWO!) spoken word poems, AND he crowd surfed at the end. It was freaking incredible. After the concert, I was visibly shaken, trying to comprehend the awesome that I had just experienced. I sat down and wrote this, because I had to write something. It sort of reads like the ramblings of a mad person, but I think it gives an accurate picture of how I was feeling.

Watsky in concert at the Mod Club, July 14, 2012

I emerge from the venue soaked in sweat. My knees are jello and my feet hurt more than I ever remember them hurting, but I barely feel it because I’m floating three inches off the pavement. I have to walk to the subway because I cant possibly stand still right now. There are a million thoughts going through my head right now. I feel like I have to scream or faint or fly.

Five years ago I waited in a line outside this very venue, screamed at a pitch so high dogs could hear it, shouted “I love you” at the people on stage, sang along to every word of every song even if it was in a different language. That concert was for a silly German emo-punk band that I was sure I would love for the rest of my life. (I didn’t.)

This concert was a surprisingly similar experience. I waited outside in line, I shouted in excitement, I sang along, but the difference between the experiences surrounded me. I had grown in the last five years more than I could have known until this very moment.

Five years ago I scoffed at the idea of hip hop. I thought that rap was just strings of profanities. I would never have dreamed that I would love hip hop so much as to go to a concert on my own because I couldn’t bear missing it.

I am unbelievably glad I did. Watsky has taught me so many valuable lessons. How to appreciate rap for poetry, how to ignore the judgement of others for the simple pleasure of something you enjoy, how to be myself.

Thank you, George Watsky. To me, you’re more than a musician.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

