Moving Forward

At the end of July I was getting really excited about blogging. I had all of these ideas for blogs and they were going to be so good. I was convinced that I was going to do BEDA again (blog every day in August, this time), and then something happened. Summer happened. For some reason all of the everything always happens in the summer. Even though everyone is still working the same as in winter, and all my school friends are still spread out around the planet, this summer ended up being weirdly busy. It’s like we Canadians are making up for ages of winter hibernating by shoving a year’s worth of a social life into the summer months.

Seriously, who needs Florida when you’ve got this? Canadian summers are awesome.

I’m in this weird place in my life where I feel like I’m doing a lot, but I’m actually not heading anywhere. I’ve heard that the first years out of college are some of the hardest of your life. I believe it, but I don’t think things really get easier as time goes on, just different. I had this whole section written out about how life changes and sucks through every period of your life, but it got really depressing. My point is that you have crazy hard things to deal with all the time, and you can’t just keep thinking things will be better and perfect one day because they aren’t. And that’s not a bad thing, it’s just life.

It took me a long time to realize that. It seems like a kind of obvious thing, seeing it in writing there, but it’s something that’s harder to come to terms with than it is to say. I spent a long time thinking that things will get better. Once I change schools/get out of high school/figure out what I want to do with my life/get a real job,  then things will be perfect, then things will stop being so hard. I have to learn to revel in the struggle, because I can still be happy even when things suck.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Moving Forward

  1. Mrs Mich Mac says:

    One of the hardest things I’ve had to grasp and live by is that the only constant in life is change. I know that sounds so simple but holy hand grenades, the most challenging times in my life have been after college and in my early 20’s. Although who am I kidding, I am still hitting challenges, discovering who I am and what I want to do with my life. Even being married doesn’t stop that process! 2008 was a horrid year for me, 2011 was another challenging year for me. I know it won’t be the last times either. Being stuck in the “valleys” suck but once you are through them you won’t be the same, you will have either learned something or changed something. (Not the easiest thing to think about during those times though!)
    Anyways, I would just like you to know that you are not alone and I so hear you on so many different levels!!
    Life is anything but predictable!

  2. pantiesandpeppersprays says:

    That photo is breath-taking!

  3. Pingback: Taking It Easy Too Long « Wanderings, Meanderings, and Reasons Why

Leave a Reply

