Moving Forward, Actually. To-Do #1

My last post was a tad depressing. Sorry about that. I totes didn’t mean for that to happen.

Regardless, I’ve been feeling like I’m kind of standing still, so I’ve decided to start a little project to get myself moving.

I’ve never been much of one for To-Do lists or New Year’s resolutions. I always seem to have the intention right but give up when it comes to the follow through. Of course. That’s how it always is. I realize that what I need, is some sort of something keeping me in check. When I was finishing this godforsaken online course for school, I really really didn’t want to do those assignments. Even though they were easy and wouldn’t take long, or perhaps more because of that. I ended up having to force myself to do the work before the due date. And then it dawned on me. All this stuff I need to do but am putting off… I need a due date. I’ve always been one to work better under pressure.

So in an effort to actually get things done, my blog is going to help me do that. Every Sunday I’m going to put up a weekly To-Do List. And then every Saturday, I will prove my success or failure in picture form. It needs a twist, though. Me telling you guys what I’m going to do every week is not going to be all that exciting. So, on top of the things I need/want to get done during the week, I am going to add one fun thing to every weekly list. One thing I’ve never done before, or one thing I’ve always wanted to do, or just something crazy that will push my out of my comfort zone. I’ll come up with a few, but I’m hoping I can get some comment suggestions from my readers as well. (Psst… that means you guys!)

So, awesome, list, fun things, but something’s missing. What if I fail at my tasks? There’s no consequences! What good is that? So, if I fail at a task, the next week I have to do TWO crazy tasks. The consequence task would ideally be submitted by one of you, who love me and want me to succeed at my goals and also see me do stupid or embarrassing things if I don’t.

So, starting today, here’s my first To-Do List for the week of August 19th

1. Start looking for a real job. 

I’ve been slacking on this one. I know what I want to do, but I think it’s hard to get there and it scares me. So, I’ve got to take steps to get the kind of job I want.

2. Research 3 companies I want to work for (and can!)

They’re out there, I just need to know more about them. This is like homework, only fun.

3. Write a goddamn cover letter

I hate writing cover letters. And I suck at it. The only way to get better is to actually do it. This task will probably come up for a few weeks in a row.

4. Switch the dressers in my room

I’ve been meaning to do this since Mom re-varnished a new wardrobe for me, I’ve just been putting it off.

BONUS TASK 5. Contact someone I’ve lost touch with

I’m not even sure who this will be yet, but Facebook should (hopefully) make this easy. Task is failed if person does not respond. Try more than once if I must!!

I just thought of something. Since my own Bonus Tasks are supposed to be fun, I think you guys should try do them too. I think that would be awesome.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving Forward, Actually. To-Do #1

  1. Bethany says:

    If you fail, I’m making you eat a peanut butter and hot pepper jelly sandwich.

  2. Joel says:

    Great blog. I have a book that you should ask me about. This kind of stuff has also been on my mind lately. I will help move the wardrobe whenever you want. You can accept the slacking off on that one because it kind of stank of varnish at first.

    Also I still want you to go trick or treating with the New York Ladies.

Leave a Reply

