Taking It Easy Too Long

As promised, I’m going to do a Songs and Reasons Why post every day this week. The song today is by one of my most favourite bands ever, Blitzen Trapper, off their new album American Goldwing. It’s called, if you haven’t guessed, Taking It Easy Too Long.

This song is really able to sum up how I was feeling while writing this post. The lyrics really sit with me; they’re perfectly put together, as all of Eric Earley’s songs seem to be. Sometimes I really get stuck in a place for no reason. I could move out of it if I wanted to, but I don’t, and I don’t know why. This song really speaks to that. It’s okay to lie low for a while, but if you let it go on too long, you’re just doing yourself a disservice.

I read an interview the other day where Eric Earley described his years while homeless as “selfish”. (You can read the interview here. It’s really very interesting. Eric Earley’s mind is beautiful.) Now, I’m not homeless, but I understand the feeling of just wanting to say “eff this” and forget the world. It really is selfish, but I can’t help feeling like sometimes there’s something holding me back from moving forward.

That’s really what this project I’m doing is about, and the feeling that the song captures. Not just the terrible feeling of sitting in one place for too long, but the longing to get off your butt and do something about it.

I’ve embedded the official video for the song. It’s really worth a listen. The blend of instruments and the kind of seventies folk rock sound that Blitzen Trapper embodies fits the mood perfectly, and take a good listen to the lyrics, because they’re beautiful.

 

On a slightly different note; let’s take care of some housekeeping. Your votes have of course counted towards my punishment. You guys have chosen the peanut butter and hot jelly sandwich. Also, apparently the cinnamon challenge can kill you, and I don’t want to die, so… that’s not happening ever. Thank you for caring about my life enough to make me eat a gross sandwich. I will record the experience this week, and I don’t expect it to be pleasant.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking It Easy Too Long

  1. Sal says:

    Reminds me of Bob Dylan. Song is pretty nice.

Leave a Reply

