BEDAY 3 – The Hobbit

Those who know me would not hesistate to agree when I call myself an avid reader. I love reading; I love being immersed in a world other than my own, that captures me and takes me away until it’s three in the morning and I’ve forgotten that I have to get up early the next day. Aside from that fact, though, I could never really give you a list of my favourite books, because I only have one.

The Hobbit is the only book that I can truly claim as my favourite book. No other book I’ve read has ever stood up to the level I hold The Hobbit. It’s a combination of reasons, I’m sure, why I love this book so much, but it has been a companion to me for so many years, stood so many trials and rereadings that I practically have the thing memorized. Eleven times, I’ve read that book. I still am as amazed by it as the first time I read it.

When I was in seventh grade, I was having a hard time. I didn’t fit in at my school, I felt ostracized, rejected, inadaquate at times, one of the few people I felt I had on my side during that time was my teacher. He was kind to me, made me feel as though I was important, even if the people who surrounded me didn’t think so. He was the one who handed me The Hobbit for the first time. We never read the book for school, he just thought it would be something I would enjoy.

At a time when all I wanted to do was escape, this book which told tales of doing just that, of running off and having adventures was the one thing I needed. It has continued to fuel that need for escape, that need for adventure, since that day. The Hobbit is the reason I travel, the reason I write, the reason I strive to reach that great, wide, somewhere.

Without it, I would be so much different than I am now. JRR Tolkien gave me that. And I am forever grateful.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BEDAY 3 – The Hobbit

  1. Woolly says:

    This is something that you and I have in common…. this is hands down my favourite book as well….
    I truly believe it is one of the greatest stories ever told. I am still amazed by the number of people who have not read this book!

    • It’s also way more accessible than Lord of the Rings. I know a lot of Lord of the Rings fans that avoid it because they had a hard time getting through the trilogy, but I find The Hobbit super easy to read.

Leave a Reply

