BEDAY 17 – Recent Albums

So Christmas was a while ago. I think it says a lot about what people think of you based solely on what they get you for Christmas. (Which is why so many people find the experience so stressful, and why I find it so much fun.) It appears to me that basically what my friends and family think of me is; “Hannah. She likes music.” Seeing as this year I got an overwhelmingly amazing collection of Beatles records, and a surprisingly large amount of money in iTunes gift cards from various people. Seriously, I got so many iTunes gift cards that when I opened my final one, from my darling mother, she told me that I could return it if I wanted to. I looked at her with all seriousness and asked her “why would I do that”?

Having been so blessed by my friends and family who know me so well, I obviously had to put a lot of thought into what music I would buy with said gift cards, so I thought I would share with you some albums that I recently bought and what I thought of them.

Kate Nash – Made of Bricks

This album was released in 2007, but I really only discovered Kate Nash last year. I had heard Foundations, the single from the album, the year it came out, but when I heard Nicest Thing last year I realized how much I really like Kate Nash. Her sound is kind of Lily Allen meets Sara Bareilles. I love the whole album, but the songs that stand out to me are Foundations and Pumpkin Soup and (obviously) Nicest Thing. Give it a listen, it’s worth it. 

The Lumineers – The Lumineers

I bought this album because I really love the song Ho Hey, which has been making the radio rounds of late. I previewed the songs on iTunes first and decided it was worth the buy. I like the album, but I was really excited for it, and I’m not sure it lived up to my expectations. Their inspiration is a lot more country than folk as I originally thought, but I think once I adjust the way I listen to the album, I’ll like it a lot more. Ho Hey stands out above the rest of the album, but I also really like Classy Girls and Submarines.

Parrot Stories – Alex Day

Alex actually has all of his albums up to stream for free on his website, which is why I held off for so long on buying anything other than his singles. I found one day after Christmas that I had one of the songs from Parrot Stories stuck in my head a lot, so I decided I needed it on my phone for good. Alex’s singles are great, but I really love Parrot Stories. The songs are a lot more lyricly driven, which is something I tend to look for in a song, and though it’s probably not Alex’s best work, I love it because it’s fun and a little nostalgic. My favourite songs are No Sacrifice and A Thousand Hours.

I will probably break down eventually and buy The World is Mine (I Don’t Know Anything), his follow up album, too.

Coconut Records – Davy

Another older album, but I’ve loved Coconut Records for years and I figured it was about time I buy the second album. If you don’t know, Coconut Records is the solo project of Jason Schwartzman, the fabulous actor who is in a lot of my favourite movies (because let’s be honest, a lot of my favourite movies are Wes Anderson movies) who also has the best hair in Hollywood (proven fact [by me]). The sound is really similar to Nighttiming, his first album which I adore, but it’s a little more poppy and the ballads make a little more sense. I love Saint Jerome and Any Fun.

These are all fantastic albums. I recommend you give them all a listen, it will be worth your time.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

