BEDAY 22 – The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

Many of you know the story of Pride and Prejudice. It is a popular one, and it’s a story that survives even today despite being written two hundred years ago. It’s also a story that I hold very dear to my heart. Lizzy Bennet is the first character in a book that I really connected with; she’s smart, and caring, and loves to laugh, and sometimes she judges a little too quickly (a flaw that I admit I do see in myself, though I do struggle to combat it). So I have enjoyed the many retellings over the years through movies and tv series, and most recently, a web series, which is what I would like to share with you guys today.

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries is a modern retelling of the classic story of Pride and Prejudice. It follows Lizzie (note the modern spelling) as she video blogs her way through grad school and her sisters’ love lives. As a concept, it could have turned out really bad, but with executive producer Hank Green (of the vlogbrothers) behind the wheel I had every confidence that it would turn out well. And turn out well it did. The actors are all brilliant, headed by Ashley Clements as Lizzie and an amazing supporting cast which works so well together to bring the story to life.

You can see the first episode here, and you really really should watch it, and you can catch up from the beginning here.

Here are some of my favourite episodes.

Episode 6 is Lizzie’s first impression of Darcy and it is just as hilarious as you would think it would be. With bonus Lydia.

Episode 28, the first appearance of Bing Lee (as opposed to Mr. Bingley. Adorable, right?) Jane and Bing are perfect and I want them to be together forever.

Episode 42 takes place right after Charlotte [redacted for spoilers] with Mr. Collins. It is brilliant and full of emotion.

Episode 48 will make you cry. Right after Bing Lee and the others leave town, Jane reacts.

and, of course, the moment all of us waited for, Episode 60, the first appearance of Darcy (which will induce squees).

And they are just getting to the good part, so GO watch it!!

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BEDAY 22 – The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

  1. Pingback: Web Series :: Beday 70 | Wanderings, Meanderings, and Reasons Why

Leave a Reply

