If I am ever a Mom I will not be a Hockey Mom :: Beday 53

Excuse my negativity, but the hotel is full of hockey teams today, and I am just the opposite of enthusiastic. If you break it down, I don’t really have much of a problem with Hockey Moms; hockey on its own is fine, I’m not the biggest fan but it’s not the worst sport to ever exist, and I like moms, moms are great, even individual hockey moms are usually pretty nice people and I have nothing against them, but there is something about the concept of Hockey Moms that I just can’t get on board with.

I want to avoid stereotypes and I certainly don’t want to say bad things about people, but I think it really comes down to the fact that you have to have some sort of interest in the sport you put your kids in. I care so little about hockey. Like I said, I don’t actively dislike it, but I just don’t care. I don’t know plays or hockey words or how to tell if a player is any good or not, they all look the same to me.

If I ever have kids I am going to give them a choice; dance, art, or soccer. If they pick soccer then I will convince my dad to coach their teams and they will be cute and it will be awesome.

(This is a side note that doesn’t have anything to do with sports, really, but I am not the kind of person to fantasize about having kids one day. That is never me. I do not think about what my kids will look like or what kind of mom I will be because I don’t really want kids and don’t necessarily know if I will be a good one and that scares me. So this concept; this wanting my kids to play soccer is a brand new development. I don’t know if this means that I am becoming more mature or if I am just buying in to social pressures. Maybe I will never know.)

 

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If I am ever a Mom I will not be a Hockey Mom :: Beday 53

  1. Carolyn says:

    What if your kid wants to play Hockey? I think that liking Hockey is the last thing that you have to do if your kid wants to play hockey. I think that you just have to support them no matter what they do. This coming from someone who doesn’t want kids either! haha!

Leave a Reply

