My Cousin Ryan :: Beday 59

Warning: this blog post contains excessive sappiness. I tried to not be sappy but Elisabethtown is on tv and I think it seeped into my writing accidentally.

The other day I came across one of those chain letter-esque Facebook posts that I hate so much, you know the ones I mean, the ones that I never shut up about how annoying they are. But then something happened; I shared it. Because it said this; “Cousins are usually the first friends we have as children. No one will ever understand your crazy family like your cousins do… [redacted due to bad grammar] Share this if you have the best cousins in the world”. Now, I don’t think I properly conveyed how much I hate these “share this if…” things. They are the scourge of Facebook. But I was in a sentimental mood, and I thought my cousins should know that I like them.

I come from a pretty big family, and I was lucky enough to be surrounded by family a lot of the time. I have a lot of cousins and I have a great relationship with a lot of them. I think its safe to say, though, that I have a special relationship with my cousin Ryan. I don’t think any of my other cousins would disagree, or be insulted that I say that. Growing up, my Aunt Arlene’s family was often the closest to us; we would visit them when we took the trip to see my grandparents, and because the four kids in my family were close in age to the five in theirs, we were often paired off automatically. Ryan and I, being the youngest (for the time being) spent time together when we were growing up due to that.

I remember, though, the exact day that Ryan stopped being a relative and became my friend. It was one of our family Christmases, and Ryan and I sat in the snow and looked up at the stars and talked about things. I must have been about ten or twelve at the time, but I remember it being the first time I had a conversation with someone where I didn’t feel self-conscious or misunderstood. I am telling you this story because tomorrow I get to go visit Ryan (who I haven’t seen since Christmas) and I am so excited to spend the weekend with him. Ryan and I have been close since that day, and I am so grateful to have a cousin like him to call friend.

 

(P.S. Dear cousins who aren’t Ryan; I love you guys too! So much! If you feel left out I will write a blog post about you, too. But only if you come visit me :P)
About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

