Vacation Food :: Beday 65

It’s a well known fact that food just tastes better when you are on vacation. Everyone knows this. Maybe it is because you are happier or because you associate good memories with it and you just remember it as tasting better. I don’t know. But I do know that lately I have been associating food with my previous vacations because I am a) missing travel a little bit, and b) hungry. There are a few meals in particular that I can think of that I just want to eat all the time.

My brother and I went on a cruise in 2010 and when we were in St. Croix we were at this private beach and it had a restaurant and in that restaurant I had the best chicken wrap in the world. It was perfect and I want another one.

I waited two hours for deep dish pizza at Gino’s East in Chicago and it was so worth it. I would have waited two more hours for that pizza. Chicago is my favourite US city just because of Gino’s East.

This is not really vacation-specific but the first time I had a churro I was at Disney World and they don’t really sell churros in Canada and I often am sad about that fact.

In Germany the common thing for breakfast was bread and cheese. In Fussen we were at a bed and breakfast and their bread was so fresh and soft and amazing and the cheese was just laughing cow cheese but somehow it was better. I have dreams about that bread.

At Disney they have this thing called Dole Whip, which is pineapple flavoured soft serve ice cream, and they only sell it at Disney Parks and at the Dole factory in Hawaii. It is like heaven in a frozen treat. Sometimes I want to go to Florida just for Dole Whip.

This blog is kind of self-indulgent and also now I’m way hungrier than I was before. Here is a picture of me eating Dole Whip so that you can understand why it is so amazing.

Dole Whip

Pineappley goodness

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vacation Food :: Beday 65

  1. Ipuchan says:

    i’m gonna get a dole whip when i’m there in april. I’ve never had one

  2. Carolyn says:

    I read your blog and then I was on twitter and someone posted about churros at Pancho’s bakery in Kensignton…weird.

  3. Joel says:

    That Dole Whip does look awesome. For me, it was a balsamic glazed steak and potatoes in this little diner called the Tree House in Costa Rica. So hungry!

  4. Joel says:

    You were in love with your lunch, me not so much. But the day on the whole was fab.

Leave a Reply

