Wounded Healer :: Beday 77

I was listening to this song the other day and inexplicably burst into tears. Part of it, I think, was because I was having a terrible week, and I was already dealing with a death in the family, but mostly it was because I finally got it. I always knew that the song was about how people face death, but it never really hit me until just then.

I remember when my dad’s dad died, they took me out of my third grade class to tell me. My dad was there, and I hugged him and cried, but I didn’t really get it. When we were at the funeral I asked my mom why everyone was crying except for me. She told me it was because I’d already cried my tears, but that wasn’t the question I was asking. I was trying to figure out why it didn’t affect me the way it affected everyone else, and the reason of course was because I didn’t fully understand. The chorus of this song really speaks to that; of knowing you should be sad but not really understanding why.

The second verse is what really got me. The thing about death is that it reminds you of the fragility of life. I never like to see my dad upset, but watching him go through something tough lately made me realize that one day he won’t be there anymore. It’s not a happy thought, in fact it’s a terrifying thought. And Watsky realizes that thought, but also takes comfort in the things that are similar between father and son. I can take that with me too. I will always have proof of my dad in myself and that gives me comfort.

Dealing with death is never easy. It’s hard and painful, but it’s important. Because it makes you remember the things that matter.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Songs and Reasons Why and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wounded Healer :: Beday 77

  1. Shleesimm says:

    “The sound of our sneeze is the same” KILLED me. Sigh

  2. Carolyn says:

    Good song. I hope that you are feeling better. Big hug!

  3. Pingback: Daddy’s Day :: Beday 157 | Wanderings, Meanderings, and Reasons Why

  4. Pingback: One Whole Year :: Beday 365 | Wanderings, Meanderings, and Reasons Why

Leave a Reply

