How I Get Over the “I’m Bored”s :: Beday 99

People who know me even a little bit know that the internet is pretty much my lifeblood. I keep up with friends through it, most of my entertainment comes from it, and I spend the majority of my job using it. Because I have a job that mostly revolves around waiting for the phone to ring or the door to open and an awesome boss, I get to spend a lot of time surfing the internet while I’m at work.

Today was different though. Every so often I just get tired of the internet; I don’t want to surf the web because everything is the same, everyone on tumblr is posting the same fandom things or arguing about issues I can’t muster up an opinion on, all the news sites are depressing or oblivious, I’ve seen everything else a thousand times over. But when I get in this mood, it’s usually not just the internet that I’m tired of. Sometimes I just get bored of things. I don’t like the internet anymore because it’s boring, I’m too energetic to read, I’ve seen everything on tv, I’ve listened to all my music a thousand times over. There are only a few things that can shake this mood off of me.

The first is social interaction. I need to talk to someone, and not just about the weather. I need to have a real conversation, or rant about politics, or go way too in-depth about the latest album of the latest band. I need people, and I need to talk to people. Not talking to people for too long makes me go loopy.

Another thing that helps is just to do something different, but not just something small. Taking a new route home will not do. Listening to a new band will not do. I need to try out a whole new genre of music, see what I think about electronica or heavy metal or weird ethereal ambient music. I need to go somewhere I’ve never gone before, talk to people I would have never met otherwise, or learn something I knew nothing about before.

The only other thing that can get this excited itch off me is to plan a trip. Even if I don’t take it, or if it’s for someone else, or if it’s a trip I plan to take in five or ten years. I love figuring things out and getting excited about places. The research is half the fun of going places, which is why I prefer backpacking to planned tours (nothing against planned tours, I have enjoyed them in the past). I just really love finding out what’s going on in a certain place, how I’m going to get there, where I’ll stay, where I’ll eat, how I’ll get around. It makes me want to live a more exciting life day to day.

For this current mood, I think I’m going to rely on social interaction to save me. Luckily I have wonderful friends who want to hang out with me for whatever reason and lots of spare time this week.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

