Books :: Beday 134

As far as my own perspective goes, I’ve kind of always been known as an avid reader. When I was younger and a lot more socially inept I took refuge in books. Books were my safe place, and I loved them. I still do, but lately they’ve been taking a backseat, which saddens me. I don’t even really know what the reason is. It’s not that I don’t have a lot of time, I could easily fit some reading time in my schedule, I’m sure, but I find when I have downtime I’d rather do something brainless than intellectual. Maybe this is a sign of my moving away from wanting to be the smartest person in every room (which is healthy, obvs) but it’s also kind of disheartening.

When I do find the time to read though, I will often pick up a book and either read the first chapter and never pick it up again, or devour it like a lion on a gazelle in one or two sittings. I haven’t read more than the first chapter of a book since Maureen Johnson’s The Madness Underneath came out, which I just sat and read in like a day. 

I picked up The Great Gatsby today because I want to read it before I see the movie, because I’m one of those. I did that thing though, where I start reading and then get mentally exhausted and I have to stop. I’m determined though. I’ve heard a lot of really great things about this book and I am sure that unlike Gatsby, they will pan out. So I am going to power through my mental fog and hopefully finish within a few weeks anyway.

Maybe this book will be the first step into reading regularly again. I would like that.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

