Star Trek into Darkness :: BEDAY 147

I promised you guys a movie review, so here goes. I am avoiding spoilers as much as possible. There may be teeny tiny ones, but they are little and won’t sting much. 

Let me start off by saying that in the Star Trek/Star Wars debacle, I am firmly on the Star Trek side. Star Trek has been a part of my life since I used to hide behind my dad while he watched The Next Generation when I was six. (I thought Worf was scary. He had a really deep voice and a weird face.) Now, that being said, and the furthest reaches of my trekkiness exposed, I also have to say that when it comes to the Original Series, I am not that well informed. I’ve seen a few episodes here and there, enough to know that Chekov is clearly my favourite and that Kirk gets all the alien ladies and that Uhura is a badass, but I haven’t seen all of the original series movies. There is my secret Star Trek shame I guess, but if we’re being real, I’m not really sure they’re the best movies ever. (I saw the one with the whales, ages ago.) The eighties were not the best decade for movies, let’s be honest.

Okay, so Star Trek background complete, let’s jump in to Into Darkness.

Visually, the movie was beautiful, but there’s not much less to expect of JJ Abrams (but holy lens flare, calm down, man). The effects were cool, there were explosions, and space base jumping, and Zachary Quinto with no eyebrows. The movie was fun, it was an exciting space adventure, which is exactly what it should have been.

I was worried that because I didn’t remember too much about the previous movie that I wouldn’t be able to catch right up with the action, but I did pretty well. I wasn’t confused about who was who or why Uhura was with Spock or anything like that, so they did a good job of catching people up without making them feel stupid.

I did feel like I was missing something, however, throughout the film. I knew Cumberbatch was playing Khan due to internet spoilers (damn you tumblr) so the surprise wasn’t that surprising to me. But I didn’t have the backstory of the original series so I didn’t really know why Khan was a name to be feared. I feel like they may have relied on that a bit heavily. Plus, Benedict’s voice is way too buttery to not be lulled in, even if he is playing the villain.

It was nice to see Leonard Nimoy again! And of course it’s always good to see another BBC face in Noel Clarke (did you know they only have like, twelve actors?)

I don’t think Star Trek is the kind of movie that begs for analysis. It was fun, I had a good time, but I don’t think it was packed full of metaphors about the human condition. As a Star Trek fan but not a Kirk fan, I thought it was brilliant.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Star Trek into Darkness :: BEDAY 147

  1. Woolly says:

    it came as a bit of a shock to hear you haven’t watched the original movies… if you had you would know why Khan was such a bad ass… In fact I think you should stop whatever you’re doing and go watch Star Trek 2: Wrath of Khan RIGHT MEOW!!!!

    Star Trek : The motion picture aka the first movie… sucked huge, but you gotta see the second!!!

    I will be going Sunday to see the new movie… I can’t wait…

  2. Ashley says:

    I’ve watched quite a few episodes of the original series now what with being home for a few weeks, and because my dad is a huge fan. I think the interesting thing about the original (where I’m glad they made a change) is that Uhura is not at all a badass. She has a badass fro and killer legs but she mostly just answers the space phone and says ‘Captain! There’s something you need to see!’ etc. Zoe Saldana made Uhura AWESOME. Also, Chekhov is not in a lot of the episodes of the original series, and they don’t fly a lot. A lot of it is going to humanoid planets with purple skies and finding creatures that always always want Kirk to stay there forever/die/marry the queen for some reason. That being said, Leonard Nemoy is PERFECTION as Spock. He was just The Character. He was all up in it.

    That’s my bit.

Leave a Reply

