Ottawa River Rafting :: Beday 162

I’ve never really considered myself an overly adventurous person. Amongst my family members, I’m the wimp. The one who wouldn’t go on roller coasters until I was fourteen, the one who can’t really climb a tree to save her life, but when I started travelling my view of myself changed a little.

When it comes to vacations, I’m not the kind of person who can’t sit on the beach all day. I need to have something to do, or I get restless. Now that’s not to say that I don’t enjoy a resort every once in a while, but I certainly don’t shy away from the more exciting option. This past weekend I took a short break from work and headed out to They Call It Ottawa But Really It’s Too Far Away From a City To Call It Anything for a little bit of adventure.

Now I jumped in on this trip last minute, so I wasn’t part of the planning stage, but the company we went with went above and beyond what I had expected; apart from the bugs, there’s not a lot that I can complain about. I can deal with uncomfortable beds and no flush toilets for one night. (I may be a city girl and complain a lot, but most of it’s for show.) The staff at our camp were fantastic, everyone was constantly smiling and seemed to genuinely enjoy being there, even the morning after enjoying a staff wedding the night before. Our raft guide became our friend, helped us bond and enjoy ourselves even more.

Jumping into a group that already knows each other can be nerve wracking; I went with my best friend, her boyfriend, and three other people I’d never met before, but doing an activity like this, which requires team work and adrenaline; there is no better way to get to know people. Even the other group that was in our raft became friends by the end.

I know people can be nervous about high-energy sports like this, but I am not that fit of a person, and I had an awesome time. My muscles were killing me by the time I got back, and I still feel the need to sleep for three days straight, but it was way worth it.

As a city person, the thing that will draw me into the country will be excitement, fun, and friends, and all three of those things were created during my short rafting trip. I recommend it immensely.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

