Four Simple Words :: Beday 178

I haven’t done a Songs and Reasons Why post in a while, I’ve been focusing mainly on playlists, but I’ve been listening to the new Frank Turner album basically non stop for the last few weeks, and I thought I’d share one of the songs I particularly love from Tape Deck Heart.

 

Frank Turner describes himself as a country singer, but coming from punk roots I think the best way to describe his music is folk-punk. This song definitely falls to the punk side, even with the Come Sail Away-esque switch after the intro.

The thing that’s so great about this song is that it describes so well the energy and experience that comes with live music. Frank doesn’t hide how much music means to him, it comes through in his lyrics and is one of the reasons I love his songs so much. This song takes a different route though; it encapsulates the feeling you get, that energy and camaraderie that comes with going to a live show for a band you absolutely love.

Going to a show is a rush; it’s dancing and energy and love and friendship and everything all at once. I’ve never done drugs, but the rush of a good live show is the closest thing I can equate to a high. It’s like floating after you leave the venue, and this song just gets that so much.

I am going to see Frank Turner in Toronto next weekend and I cannot wait to dance to this song.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Songs and Reasons Why and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Four Simple Words :: Beday 178

  1. Carolyn says:

    That song is awesome! I don’t remember ever listening to him before. I can’t remember if you drop boxed him to me, but I don’t seem to have anything by him. If I wasn’t going to a Jays game that day I might go with you. Is anyone going with you?

  2. Pingback: Music Fans Restore My Faith In Humanity :: Beday 179 | Wanderings, Meanderings, and Reasons Why

Leave a Reply

