Best Summer Ever :: Beday 185

I was going to blog about my Kingston trip today, but I really have to be in the right mindset for travel blogs or they come out all funny. Plus right now I am jacked full of adrenaline and Indian food and I really want to tell you guys about all the things that are making me happy right now.

At the beginning of this summer, I vowed that I was going to make this my Best Summer Ever. I was going to do all of the things I wanted to do, not miss out on opportunities, and finally do the things that I’d said I was going to do ages ago. All this while working as much as I could within reason. I wasn’t that optimistic, to be honest. Working part time almost always leads to having to miss out on things because of work, and so while I had lofty ideals, I wasn’t confident in the fact that I’d uphold them.

I have to say though, I’m doing a pretty good job so far. It’s only the beginning of summer, really, and I’ve already done so many things that I really wanted to do this summer. I went to the zoo. I splurged and finally got my hair back to the way I liked it four years ago. I took a small trip to go see my favourite cousin get married to a great girl. I seized and opportunity that presented itself to me and spent a weekend white water rafting. I finally, finally, took the trip to Kingston that I’d been dying to take.

And the rest of the summer is just getting more and more exciting! Frank Turner concert two days. Booked to see Neil Gaiman at the beginning of August, a man who I’ve looked up to for years and years and I never thought I would get the chance to meet. I’m also booked to see my favourite comedian, Russell Brand, perform at the end of August, another person I never thought I would get the chance to see up close. (One day I will explain why I think Russell Brand is so great, and so much more than his public persona.) Plus I get to exercise my geek muscles for FanExpo this year and line up for ages to meet Nathan Fillion, who I know from Firefly, and Buffy, and Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along Blog, and my dreams.

And that is not even counting the trips I hope to take this summer, with some very cool and special people that I love a lot. Plus there are so many things I want to do this summer that I haven’t even planned yet! I want to go to the beach (which technically I’ve done, thanks to the Kingston trip, but I want to go again), I want to swim in my pool way more than I did last year, I want to go see as many concerts as I possibly can (whether I have someone to go with or not), I want to have a legit grown up barbecue, and I want to make time to see lots of old friends who I barely get to see anymore.

All of these things, it’s so hard to plan around work, but I love what I do, and I love working a lot (it gives me focus, even if I complain). I think I can fit it all in if I plan really well. I’m pretty sure it’s going to be the Best Summer Ever.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Best Summer Ever :: Beday 185

  1. Sal says:

    NATHAN FILLION WILL BE AT FANEXPO?!?!?!?!

  2. Pingback: One Whole Year :: Beday 365 | Wanderings, Meanderings, and Reasons Why

Leave a Reply

