The Ocean at the End of the Lane :: Beday 197

Yesterday I had meant to write a blog about how I can appreciate Bob Marley as a dude but not entirely like his music and still be a person who does not deserve to be despised. But instead I accidentally ended up using two free days in one week because something happened that I was grateful for, that had not happened to me in a while. I read a new book by Neil Gaiman.

It has been a while, about a half a year since I have picked up a book and read it all the way through in one sitting (the last was Maureen Johnson’s Madness Underneath). There’s like an indescribable difference, though, between being engulfed in a new book and being engulfed in a new Gaiman book, and this one has got to be one of the most special books yet.

I can’t do a book review. I can’t say what I liked about it and what I didn’t like about it because it’s too difficult to pull apart. There is so much of Neil in this book, I can tell that much without even knowing him, you can just feel it in the words. In the ramp up towards the release of Ocean there were anecdotes and blogs from Neil and people who know and love Neil that this book was much more real than his other works. But the great thing about Neil is that you can’t tell the fact from the fiction, and that’s the point. It doesn’t matter what parts of the story are true, because deep underneath the story is just true. And that’s the best way I can describe it.

Less than a month sits in between now and the time when I get to stand in line for hours upon end to get Neil to sign the copy of this book that I carried around with me for a short twelve hours yesterday; in the pool and in the bathtub and in bed. And now I get to pass this book on to the people that I love, hoping that they will understand it the way I did, hoping that they will get the same things from this book that I did, knowing they probably won’t but that it doesn’t really matter. And now I have to figure out how to say all of this to Neil in the maybe two or three sentences that I may get to exchange with him.

It doesn’t happen that much, finding a book that sticks with you so much you can’t let it go. It’s the best feeling, really.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

