Songs That Calm Me Down :: Beday 202

It’s playlist time again, which makes me happy. These tend to be a lot more work than normal blogs, but I really love doing them. However, to save myself some linking time, I’ve made a playlist on YouTube which you can find here, and listen to all the songs all the way through, rather than having to click on each individual song to listen to them separately.

Sometimes I have a hard time dealing with things. I mean, everyone does, I guess. Sometimes even normal things can seem overwhelming, and when I feel that way I most often turn to music. There are a few songs that just instantly make things either more understandable, or easier to deal with, or just give you a different way of looking at things. I took a walk today and made a list, and here’s that list for you to listen to and hopefully feel less overwhelmed.

1. Awake My Soul – Mumford and Sons

This song has a way of taking me out of whatever my thoughts are and focusing solely on music. Marcus’ voice just fits into the places in my head that feel like they are buzzing too much, and gives them a hug. (I might be mixing metaphors, but I can’t really get the right picture with words). The song really helps me to focus on the things I can control, rather than the things that I can’t.

2. Let It Be – The Beatles

I remember one day I was having kind of a terrible time of things. I was stressed out, and angry at something or someone or whatever, and I got in the car and realised that I hadn’t unplugged my phone from the radio, and this song had just started, and it was exactly what I needed. I just sat and listened to Paul tell me that everything was going to be okay, and then it was.

3. Color In Your Cheeks – The Mountain Goats

This song is a bit of a different feeling than the previous two, and I’m not really sure what it is about it that makes me feel so comforted. I think it’s just a feeling that even if things are the worst they could possibly be, there’s always that feeling of being with people that will make things even just a little bit better.

4. Let It Go – Great Big Sea

I have a strange relationship with Great Big Sea. Sometimes I will love them, and sometimes I can’t stand them, but this song just has a really great way of thinking behind it. It’s like a kind, gentle, acoustic kick in the pants to stop feeling so sorry for myself.

5. My Interpretation – Mika

A strange choice, perhaps, but I love this song. It’s a bit more subdued that Mika’s other work, and it just seems to make sense to me. This song is great for reminding me that other people’s opinions don’t really make that much of a difference in the end, as long as I know what’s going on in my own head.

6. The Fastest Way Back Home – Frank Turner

Frank Turner has a way of making things better regardless of what mood I’m in, but this song really hits home for me. It’s kind of a love song, kind of a sad song, kind of an introspective song, it’s everything it needs to be.

7. Brick By Brick – Newton Faulkner

The tempo picks up a bit with this one. This song is exactly what you think it would be. It just says that even though things naturally fall apart, we as humans just kind of naturally keep going. We build back up, brick by brick.

8. Strong As an Oak – George Watsky

I’ve talked about this song several times on here before, I think. It is a great mood-lifter if you are feeling like things are never going to be okay again. It’s all about inner strength, and it makes me smile.

9. The Perfect Space – The Avett Brothers

This song is perfect for that time when you just want to be alone, when you feel like if you talk to another person you’ll probably just yell at them even if they don’t deserve it. This song gets that feeling, and makes it okay.

10. Vanilla Twilight – Owl City

There’s nothing special about this song, it’s a love song, with beautiful metaphor as is expected in an Owl City song, but somehow it just hits the right notes to make me feel better.

11. The Tree – Blitzen Trapper (feat. Alela Diane)

This song is just about life. It’s about a journey, and it puts into perspective that the hard parts are just temporary, that things will get better eventually. And that you’ll always have someone in your journey to play the harmony.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Songs and Reasons Why and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Songs That Calm Me Down :: Beday 202

  1. Bethany says:

    not You’re Okay?

  2. Sal says:

    “I just sat and listened to Paul tell me that everything was going to be okay, and then it was” You’re adorable

Leave a Reply

