I’m Going to Get Political :: Beday 239

I usually try to avoid stuff like this on my blog. I don’t like to force my opinions down other people’s throats, but this is way too important. It’s terrifying, actually and I can’t, I can’t, I just can’t. Hopefully you’ve heard about the situation in Syria. Hopefully the news you watch covered that instead of Miley Cyrus’ ass-jiggling antics at the VMA’s. I hope the world is informed about this but I don’t think it is.

I’m a pacifist, through and through, war is messy and scary and I don’t understand it. What’s happening in Syria, that a government would target their own civilians with a weapon this powerful frightens me, angers me, mostly it confuses me. It is confusing because civil war is messy and I can’t think of another option. In a situation where citizens find a need for a new government, a better government, what other option is there? Does Gandhi’s civil disobedience work every time? Is violence and revolt the only answer?

It is confusing because I don’t know what the response will be, or what the response should be, from the rest of the world. The UN was formed to make rules for the world to follow, they said No Chemical Weapons and Syria ignored that. Is the necessary response then to use more weapons? To harm more innocent people with bombs because Syria broke the rules? If not, how do we enforce the rules? How do we prevent something like this from happening again? There must be consequences for actions, but why is it that civilians are the victims in international quarrels?

These are not simple questions and they don’t have simple answers. I don’t know them. I can hardly even fathom them. I am just a rich little white girl typing on the internet in her safe little country, trying to hold in her sobs.

 

If you aren’t aware of the situation in Syria and other parts of the Middle East, I urge you to do your own research. The news only goes so far, really. Make sure you know what’s going on in the world beyond Miley’s tongue.
About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

