September is Weird :: Beday 246

I’ve always had a hard time with September. When I was a kid September was back to school, and I had an odd relationship with school. I’ve always loved learning, but elementary was a weird time for me. When high school started September was bitter-sweet; coming back to my friends and classes at school, but also the end of the summer and free time with my books and my siblings. I’ve never been one to hate school altogether, but there was always something about it to hate.

Now, September is just another month, but it still seems different. The end of summer is imminent. I can smell the pumpkin spice and dried leaves in the air just around the corner, and I am both dreading it and excited for it. I am grasping on to the last straws of summer. I love summer. I love the heat, and the humidity, and the fun things that come with it. I love that I am the most smiley when the sun is out. But I am also excited for fall. I can’t wait for comfy sweaters and fall boots, crunchy leaves and a nice cool breeze, the aforementioned pumpkin flavoured everything.

Summer is ending, but I have no school to return to; no friends waiting to see me every day for the rest of the year. I have to rely on myself for my education and my social engagements.

For right now, though, it is still summer until I get back from Mexico. No exceptions.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to September is Weird :: Beday 246

  1. Carolyn says:

    September is the best because it is the month that I was born! haha!

Leave a Reply

