How To Talk Like A Pirate :: Beday 262

Avast, me hearties. Today be September 19th, and all ye scallywags know what that means. It be International Talk Like a Pirate Day!

Though, I am typing, not talking, and so I can get away with using regular English to tell all you landlubbers how to Talk Like a Pirate without really knowing all the slang and the different meanings of arr vs yarr. Here’s some simple rules to follow.

1. Get the voice down

Lower your voice, get a rough scratchy sea-salt weary scruff down in your throat. If you want to, you can throw in a Sparrow-esque British accent, but it’s not necessary.

2. Get the attitude down

I know us Canadians are used to being polite, but Pirates don’t say thank you. Don’t forget your swagger and your sea-legs.

3. Ditch the grammar

Who cares about subject/verb agreement? The worse your grammar is, the better your Pirate voice. You is ye, you be not are, and don’t forget to leave the “g” off of any word ending in “ing”.

4. Throw in some lingo

“Landlubbers” “bilge rats” “ahoy” “mateys” etc. Just throw them in where they make sense. Refer to things you want as “booty”, when you go left you’re going to “port” and right is “starboard”.

5. Don’t just begin and end sentences with “arr”

The “arrr” is part of the attitude. It’s a grunt of agreement, or disagreement, or greeting. Feel free to elongate the “r” sound in regular words though, that comes along with the accent.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

