Autumn Songs :: Beday 265

Today is the first day of Fall, or Autumn which I think sounds much more lovely and befitting this time of year. I quite like autumn; I get to wear comfy sweaters again, and fall boots and scarves and everything tastes like pumpkin and cinnamon and Thanksgiving is coming up which is definitely among the top contenders for favourite holiday. In a way, though, Autumn feels like ending. Summer is over, and school is beginning, and especially this year for me, though I don’t have school, I find I have a lot of things coming to an end. And as always, on the first day of the season, I have compiled a playlist for Autumn which revolves around that kind of feeling.

1. Norwegian Wood – The Beatles

This is by far one of my favourite Beatles songs. It’s about disappointment. And revenge. It feels like fall, though I can’t pinpoint why.

2. Blowin’ In the Wind – Bob Dylan

This song means so much, to so many people. And it represents a transition for me, in a way. It means questions, and questions always seem to come up around this time of year.

3. Roll Away Your Stone – Mumford and Sons

One of the first songs I heard by Mumford was this one. It’s about self doubt, and rescue. It’s about having someone there who understands your struggle and making things better.

4. Tin Man – The Avett Brothers

Tin Man is almost a predecessor to Roll Away Your Stone. It’s that stone cold feeling you get when you think you’ve lost everyone or everything, when nothing makes sense. And it takes that one thing to fix it, in a way. This cycle, that feels like autumn. The endings, and beginnings.

5. Hurts Like Heaven – Coldplay

It follows a pattern. Endings. And questions. And answers.

6. Nights Become Days – Frank Turner

This song perfectly captures that transition from summer to fall. The ending of something beautiful, and reminiscing about good times.

7. Summer Skin – Death Cab For Cutie

Don’t be fooled by the title, this song is about fall. But it’s also about changing, and growing, and becoming different people that don’t necessarily fit the way they used to.

8. Furr – Blitzen Trapper

This song is about, technically, a guy who was raised by wolves. But it’s about much more than that in reality.

9. Cinematic Lifestyle – Hudson Taylor

This, rather than revolving around endings, more embraces the exciting side of fall. The beginnings and renewings and adventure.

10. Therapy – Relient K

Again, this song is about change, and coming to terms with who you are and your circumstances in life. I can just picture driving through the country just to drive in the fall.

11. Ho Hey – The Lumineers

I’ve always felt that this song is much more sad than it seems to be on first listen. Not that sad songs necessarily scream autumn, but it seemed to fit.

12. Merry Happy – Kate Nash

Another song about endings. I love Kate Nash.

13. Over and Out – Newton Faulkner

My brother said that this is probably one of Newton’s most creative songs. It’s one of my favourites. And still, about endings.

14. Swing Life Away – Rise Against

We’ve got that nostalgic feeling similar to Nights Become Days back with this song. It’s a little about how things end, but more about looking back fondly on things that have happened.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Songs and Reasons Why and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

