Smell :: Beday 285

About a year ago, before I had started my blog every day all year project, I wrote this post about my favourite sounds. It was my intention at the time to make a series of it, until I’d finished all the senses, but I never followed up. It’s been at the back of my head since then, and I’ve finally gotten around to continuing. I’ve covered sounds, and so today I’m covering some of my favourite scents.

The sense of smell is reportedly the sense most closely linked to memory, which I find rather fascinating. I didn’t realise how many of my favourite scents came from memories I have attached to them until I began to compile this list.

I love the smell of engine grease because it reminds me of my dad. When I was a kid he worked as a truck driver and he came home every day smelling of engine oil. He smells much better now, but I still recognise the smell of engine oil, however faint.

My Mom has this perfume that I’ve never smelled on anyone else, and it makes me feel so comforted. She used to wear it every day when I was a kid and recently she started wearing it again. I love the smell of it, it smells like hugs.

I love the smell of cigars, but I can’t pinpoint why. As opposed to cigarettes, cigars have a less chemical smell to them almost sweet in some cases. I’m not one for smoking, but I’ve never had a problem with someone who smokes cigars.

That vinegary smell that makes your mouth water when you open a jar of pickles or a bag of ketchup chips. (You know.)

Dudes have this smell when they don’t smell like anything, like when they’re not wearing cologne and aren’t sweaty, and it’s so different from how girls smell. It is pleasant. You can catch a whiff of it when you’re brushing past someone or standing in an elevator and it’s just like “hey, that guy smells good”.

Have any favourite scents? Anything that triggers a memory when you smell it? Share!

 

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

