Tackling Fears :: Beday 306

I can’t believe it’s November already. I’ve got two months and two weeks before I leave for England. Not that I’ve booked a flight yet. Add that to the list of things I have to do. Before my Visa went through I had a mental list of things I had to do that I couldn’t do until my Visa went through. And now that list has become a list of things I need to do, and it is really really long. It’s daunting, knowing that I have to finish all of these things in order to make my dreams come true. I’m scared. I feel like once I’m over there I will have only myself to rely upon. It’s something I’m mentally psyching myself up for, but it hasn’t gotten any less scary yet.

Instead of dwelling on my fears, I’ve been throwing myself into the comforts that I have here for the time being; spending time with my family, my cherished friends, getting in contact with people I don’t talk to enough. I know I have a support system here, and it’s reassuring enough to make those fears seem manageable.

One thing I really needed today was a chat with my sister Bethany. My family has always been close, but over the last couple of years or so our bond changed from dedicated sisters to friends. Since she’s been in Uganda, we’ve been lucky to be able to chat every couple of days over Facebook. Today I got to see her face over Skype and giggle with her and that just instantly made me feel better. Knowing that Bethany has gone through the stress of moving to a new country, one even more unfamiliar than England, is reassuring to me. She’s my inspiration.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

