Balance :: Beday 348

It seems inevitable that a really good day will be followed by an equally terrible one; or two or three only slightly terrible ones. I feel like this is because “the universe” craves balance.

I hesitate to use the phrase “the universe” in sincerity as if I subscribe to some kind of idealistic The Secret way of thinking that I’ll get whatever I want as long as I think the right way. No, rather I mean more to say that nature tends to seek out things that make sense. Like the Fibonacci sequence embraced by pinecones and sunflowers alike, or the adaptation of animals to fit a specific change in environment. It seems to follow along the same pattern of thought that balance is nature’s greatest aim.

Which is why today I spent a half an hour discussing with a coworker how the earth is going to balance out all the shit we put it through. My friend believes that Mother Nature will fight back in some sort of climatic apocalypse similar to The Day After Tomorrow. Whereas I subscribe more to the theory that the majority of the population will be wiped out by some sort of epidemic (possibly zombie related, it’s too soon to tell) leaving the strongest of humanity to limp back into step with the rest of the world.

I know little to nothing about Karma, but the concept of balance has always made sense to me. You need the bad to understand the good. Like the force. Or Stephen Moffatt’s Doctor Who.

About Lananification

I'm a twenty-something Canadian trying to figure out what it means to be an "adult". I've recently moved to England to try to be an adult in a different country. It is just as hard. My Wanderings are travel blogs; sometimes I travel, and lots of times I write about it. My Meanderings are thoughts from this crazy, random head of mine. Songs and Reasons Why happens when I pick a song that means a lot to me, and tell you why, and then let you listen to it. In 2013 I wrote a blog every day for the whole year, minus a couple. Check those out in the BEDAY tag if you want.
This entry was posted in Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

